Description

    First English Edition of a
    Satirical Journey to Another Planet

    Nicholas Klim [pseudonym of Ludwig, Baron of Holberg]. A Journey to the World Under-Ground. London: for T. Astley & B. Collins, 1742. First English edition. Twelvemo. [A] 2, B-O12, P6. [4], 324 pages. Contemporary half calf over marbled boards, lacks title-label. Binding worn, label on spine lacking, dampstaining to end-sheets not affecting text, first blank nearly detached, one leaf creased. Despite these flaws, this is a tall copy, internally clean. From the Krown & Spellman Collection.
    Please visit HA.com/6127 for an extended description of this lot.


    More Information:

    Classic novel of a fantastical descent to a small planet in the hollow center of the Earth, first published in 1741 in Latin. "A series of satirical imaginary societies exposing follies and prejudices, in the tradition of Lucian, Hall, and Swift." [Gibson] "...Holberg, satirist as he was, was having his fun parodying the long tradition of the cosmic voyage. Nowhere in the earlier literature of that voyage, I think, is there a scene so amusing as that when Klim neared the little world of Nazar, and nowhere except in Voltaire is there more pungent satire upon the obsession of two centuries with the ideas of the new astronomy." [Nicholson]

    ESTC t91064. Beasley 104. Gove 303ff. Block 111. CBEL II, 995.



    Fees, Shipping, and Handling Description: Books & Catalogs (view shipping information)

    Sales Tax information  |  Terms and Conditions

    Bidding Guidelines and Bid Increments

    Glossary of Terms

    Auction Info

    Auction Dates
    August, 2015
    5th Wednesday
    Bids + Registered Phone Bidders: 2
    Lot Tracking Activity: N/A
    Page Views: 559

    Buyer's Premium per Lot:
    25% on the first $100,000 (minimum $14), plus 20% of any amount between $100,000 and $1,000,000, plus 12% of any amount over $1,000,000 per lot.

    Sold for: Sign-in or Join (free & quick)

    Heritage membership

    Join Now - It's Free

    VIEW BENEFITS
    1. Past Auction Values (prices, photos, full descriptions, etc.)
    2. Bid online
    3. Free Collector newsletter
    4. Want List with instant e-mail notifications
    5. Reduced auction commissions when you resell your
      winnings 
    Consign now
    • Cash Advances
    • More Bidders
    • Trusted Experts
    • Over 200,000 Satisfied Consignors Since 1976
    Consign to the 2018 April 7 Americana & Political - Dallas.

    Learn about consigning with us

    Thanks a million for getting approval to sell my Civil War Hospital Death Ledger! You made them AND ME , a nice profit. You are the best!
    Ed W.,
    Mount Vernon, OH
    View More Testimonials

    HA.com receives more traffic than any other auction house website. (Source: Similarweb.com)

    Video tutorial

    Getting the most out of search

    Recent auctions

    2017 September 14 Rare Books Signature Auction - Dallas
    2017 September 14 Rare Books Signature Auction - Dallas
    REALIZED $1,885,076