Skip to main content
Go to accessibility notice
Thank you for your patience as we bring our website back online. Any auctions currently open or opening soon have updated closing times and will run on the schedules posted here.
You may resume bidding and tracking at this time. Bids placed anytime Friday may have not been recorded, so please check your MyBids and update accordingly or contact client services for assistance.

    Description

    The First Arkham House Book, with an Open Letter to All Fans of Lovecraft, Issued by Wandrei and Derleth

    H. P. Lovecraft. The Outsider and Others. Collected by August Derleth and Donald Wandrei. Sauk City: Arkham House, 1939. First edition, one of only 1,200 copies. With a mimeographed open letter to fans of Lovecraft, entitled: "TO ALL FRIENDS AND FANS OF THE LATE HOWARD PHILLIPS LOVECRAFT". Approximately 11 x 8.5 inches. On plain white paper. Octavo. xiv, 553 pages. Publisher's black cloth with gilt spine titles. Original pictorial dust jacket designed by Virgil Finlay. Jacket is chipped at spine and corners, there are some marginal tears and tears at the creases, general edgewear, there is some rubbing and soiling to the binding, the first and last gutter are cracked, and there is a previous owner's name in blue ink on the front free endpaper. The letter is folded twice, and has a short tear at the crease near the bottom margin. A good copy and an interesting letter, possibly one of the most interesting (and brutally honest) subscription letters we've ever seen.

    More Information:

    This letter, written by Wandrei and Derleth (whose printed names appear at the bottom), is an appeal to fans of Lovecraft asking them to send money in advance of the publication of The Outsider, in order to allow publication to go forward. Pre-publication price was $3.50, and publication price was $5.00. It is interesting to note that this letter does not mention Arkham House by name, and that is also states that "there is little chance of net profit." Although The Outsider was published in an edition of 1,200 copies, this letter states the planned publication was to be 1,000 copies, with more if needed.

    Barron, Horror Literature, 3-132. Bleiler. The Guide to Supernatural Fiction, 1040.

     



    Auction Info

    Auction Dates
    October, 2012
    4th-5th Thursday-Friday
    Bids + Registered Phone Bidders: 2
    Lot Tracking Activity: N/A
    Page Views: 993

    Buyer's Premium per Lot:
    25% on the first $50,000 (minimum $14), plus 20% of any amount between $50,000 and $1,000,000, plus 12% of any amount over $1,000,000 per lot.

    Sold for: Sign-in or Join (free & quick)

    Heritage membership

    Join Now - It's Free

    VIEW BENEFITS
    1. Past Auction Values (prices, photos, full descriptions, etc.)
    2. Bid online
    3. Free Collector newsletter
    4. Want List with instant e-mail notifications
    5. Reduced auction commissions when you resell your
      winnings 
    Consign now
    • Cash Advances
    • More Bidders
    • Trusted Experts
    • Over 200,000 Satisfied Consignors Since 1976
    Consign to the 2020 March 29 Vintage Guitars & Musical Instruments Musical Instruments Signature Auction - Dallas.

    Learn about consigning with us

    Thanks a million for getting approval to sell my Civil War Hospital Death Ledger! You made them AND ME , a nice profit. You are the best!
    Ed W.,
    Mount Vernon, OH
    View More Testimonials

    HA.com receives more traffic than any other auction house website. (Source: Similarweb.com)

    Video tutorial

    Getting the most out of search

    Recent auctions

    2019 September 21 - 22 The David and Janice Frent Collection Presidential &  Political Americana, Part VI Signature Auction - Dallas
    2019 September 21 - 22 The David and Janice Frent Collection Presidential & Political Americana, Part VI Signature Auction - Dallas
    REALIZED $648,838