Skip to main content
Go to accessibility notice

    Description

    Book into Stanley Kubrick Film

    Anthony Burgess. A Clockwork Orange. London, Melbourne, Toronto: Heinemann, [1962]. First edition. Octavo. [2: blank], [viii], 196, [197-198: blank] pages. Publisher's black paper covered boards, spine lettered in gilt, in original dust jacket. Housed in custom clamshell case. A fine copy in fine first state dust jacket (price "16s / NET" at lower right corner of front flap) with 25 mm closed tear at lower rear flap fold. An excellent copy and quite uncommon in this condition.

    The author's most famous book and a cornerstone of twentieth-century British fiction. "A compelling and often comic vision of the way violence comes to dominate the mind, the novel is set in a future London and is told in a curious but readable Russified argot by a juvenile delinquent whose brainwashing by the authorities has destroyed not only his murderous aggression but also a deeper-seated sense of humanity (typified by his compulsive love for the music of Beethoven), It is an ironic novel in the tradition of Yevgeny Zamiatin's and George Orwell's anti-utopias." - Clute and Nicholls (eds), The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (1993), p. 175. Anatomy of Wonder (2004) II-190. Pringle, Science Fiction: The 100 Best Novels 36. Survey of Science Fiction Literature I, pp. 396-401.


    Shipping, Taxes, Terms and Bidding
    Calculate Standard Domestic Shipping

    Sales Tax information  |  Terms and Conditions

    Bidding Guidelines and Bid Increments

    Glossary of Terms

    Auction Info

    Auction Dates
    April, 2016
    6th Wednesday
    Bids + Registered Phone Bidders: 5
    Lot Tracking Activity: N/A
    Page Views: 571

    Buyer's Premium per Lot:
    25% on the first $200,000 (minimum $14), plus 20% of any amount between $200,000 and $2,000,000, plus 12% of any amount over $2,000,000 per lot.

    Sold for: Sign-in or Join (free & quick)

    Heritage membership

    Join Now - It's Free

    VIEW BENEFITS
    1. Past Auction Values (prices, photos, full descriptions, etc.)
    2. Bid online
    3. Free Collector newsletter
    4. Want List with instant e-mail notifications
    5. Reduced auction commissions when you resell your
      winnings 
    Consign now
    • Cash Advances
    • More Bidders
    • Trusted Experts
    • Over 200,000 Satisfied Consignors Since 1976
    Consign to the 2018 December 9 Civil War, Militaria, Arms & Armor - Dallas.

    Learn about consigning with us

    The resulting auction of my property overwhelmed me. I want to thank Tom Slater and the Heritage team for a very satisfactory experience and profitable result with my historical consignment.
    Henry L.,
    Lexington, KY
    View More Testimonials

    HA.com receives more traffic than any other auction house website. (Source: Similarweb.com)

    Video tutorial

    Getting the most out of search

    Recent auctions

    2018 June 10 Arms & Armor, Civil War & Militaria Signature Auction - Dallas
    2018 June 10 Arms & Armor, Civil War & Militaria Signature Auction - Dallas
    REALIZED SO FAR $619,240